Ju Percussion Group: Energy ∞ Infinite Ju Percussion Group: Energy ∞ Infinite

Ju Percussion Group: Energy ∞ Infinite

  • Music
  • Aotearoa Debut

Promising a musical explosion fit for the biggest concert halls, renowned Taiwanese Ju Percussion Group (JPG) is finally coming to Aotearoa.

Founded by visionary percussionist Ju TzongChing in 1986, JPG is a 13-strong percussion supergroup, plus one composer in residence, who blend East with West through impressive technique. Huge in scale, JPG’s concerts place classical instruments within Asian theatrical elements to deliver a sound that is traditional yet modern, and playful yet virtuoso.

JPG will present compositions that inspire musical imagination, evoke the sights and sounds of Taiwan, and above all demonstrate the power and thrill of pure percussion. ‘Kyoto’, a piece by John Psathas dedicated to JPG on its 25th anniversary, will also be performed in honour of one of our finest composers.

3 Epilogues (Lecointe, Gérard)
BeyonD the bEnd (Koshinski, Gene)
Solar Myth (Chang, Chiung-Ying)
Kyoto (Psathas, John)
Seek (Lu, Huan-Wei)
J Effect (Lu, Huan-Wei)
Tsá – Tshi (Kao, Han-Yen)
School Ticket Pricing

There is special school pricing available for this show please click here to fill out our form and arrange for your school's attendance
*Lowest standard public price with no restrictions

From $59.90*

Buy now


  • Sat
    Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall


1hr 40mins inc interval

301-317 Queen Street,
Auckland Central

+64 9 309 2677


With support from

Platinum Patrons Sir Roderick & Gillian, Lady Deane

“Nothing short of awesome.”

Classic FM FB

“If there was a common identifying bond in this music it was the energy – the delight in sheer muscular extroversion – with which [their instruments] were struck”

The New York Times


  • Han-Chih Tai
  • Han-Yen Kao
  • Hong-Yueh Chen
  • Huan-Wei Lu
  • Miao-Fei Chen
  • Pei-Hsun Lee
  • Tsui-Yun Lee
Senior Performers
  • Kuen-Yean Hwang
  • Pei-Ching Wu
  • Shih-San Wu
Chief Executive Officer
  • Szu-Lun Chen
Artistic Director
  • Tzong-Ching Ju
  • ©Ju Percussion Group
Programming Specialist
  • Wei-Ru Hou
Audio Engineer
  • Yi Lin
  • Gérard Lecointe
  • Gene Koshinski
  • Chiung-Ying Chang
  • John Psathas
  • Huan-Wei Lu
  • Han-Yen Tshi Kao


You will be taken directly to Ticketmaster’s site for payment processing